Easy Summer Lunch Idea 1

IMG_0094

I don’t know where y’all live but I am currently in the middle of the San Fernando Valley, a suburb of Los Angeles known for strip malls and being disgustingly hot. And it’s the middle of summer, meaning temperatures in the high 90’s, early 100’s. Gross! Can’t wait to move in 6 months. But until them I am stuck here. The last thing I want to do when it’s this hot is use the oven, stove, or eat super heavy. So I threw together a fabulous light and easy lunch that was so satisfying to all my senses, I had to post pics here. It barely even needs a recipe but i’ll share what I used.

IMG_0092

First I made a Caprese inspired salad. Meaning it was almost exactly like a Caprese salad except I put it on baby greens which is not exactly how it’s done. But it was close enough! I used:

  • Two Roma tomatoes
  • Fresh water mozzarella (three medium balls)
  • Fresh basil leaves
  • Pepper
  • Spring baby greens
  • This BOMB fig balsamic I found on ThriveMarket.com

IMG_0093I

I adore this fig balsamic and it’s pretty much the only dressing I ever use these days.

All I did was slice the tomatoes and mozzarella, assemble in a pretty/fancy way over the lettuce, topped with black pepper, fresh basil leaves and a drizzle of the fig balsamic. Option to add a little olive oil. I didn’t. Honestly I forgot but I didn’t miss it.

To make a little bit more substantial of a feast I also cut up a cantaloupe and picked up some prosciutto at my beloved Whole Foods to wrap the melon in Italian style. It was heaven I tell you.

I fed a man with this and he approved. No drive-thru needed! Ciao!

xoxoxo

D

Leave a Reply

