Great Lakes Collagen Hydrolysate

 

I was getting my nails done the other day and the manicurist complimented me on my naturally long, strong nails. I can honestly tell you I have never had that happen before. My entire life I have always had weak, brittle nails that flaked to dust the second they dared to grow past my finger. I use to also have a habit of chewing on them which didn’t help. Throughout my 20’s, to have long sexy nails, I always had to get acrylics. There was just no way my nails could be long naturally, and I had accepted that. Later on as I got into my 30’s and no longer desired stripper nails (I say that with love I am very pro stripper!), I decided I was cool having short nails and switched to getting gel manicures.

I told the manicurist of my secret weapon and she was very intrigued. Great Lakes Gelatin Collagen Hydrolysate powder! Hydro what???

Seriously I had never heard of this stuff until I went to visit a friend who happened to be a holistic nutritionist. She was telling me about joint and back pain she was experiencing and how she added this wonder powder to her Tumeric tea and how it saved her life. I wanted to try her Tumeric tea recipe to help with my clinical depression and decided to also try the collagen powder to boost my metabolism. I honestly didn’t really think any of this would do anything. I am skeptical of most supplements but figured it was worth a try as I was trying to heal some health issues naturally.

I ordered the brand she recommended, Great Lakes from Amazon.com. It comes in a HUGE canister for 22.99. HUGE.

https://www.amazon.com/Great-Lakes-Gelatin-Collagen-Hydrolysate/dp/B005KG7EDU/ref=sr_1_1_s_it?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1469151836&sr=1-1&keywords=great+lakes+gelatin

Well the Tumeric tea did nothing for my depression (though I know other people who swear by it so that was just my experience), but I was taken aback one day when I realized my nails were CRAZY thick and strong and growing long without breaking. It was seriously amazing and I have never seen my nails look like that.

Another benefit is hair and skin. I got one of those hair cuts that was just a WEE bit too short for my liking but it grew out FAST since I have been using this crazy stuff.

I also use it as a protein supplement. It doesn’t have all the sugar and artificial ingredients that most protein powders and shakes have. And it tastes like nothing!

Recommended dose is two tablespoons a day. The directions say you can mix it in your juice or coffee. I have been putting 1 tablespoon at a time per cup of green tea with a spoon of organic raw honey. I don’t even taste it. Now that it’s summer I have been putting it in my iced green matcha tea.

I can’t recommend this product more. It is awesome. Way better and easier to swallow (literally) than collagen capsules and I noticed way more benefits. So incredibly NOT Vegan.

81+wwb7HMEL._SY679_

xoxoxo

D

4 thoughts on “Great Lakes Collagen Hydrolysate

    • kitchenaudacity says:

      I’ve only seen it in the large canister, I know there are other brands though that probably similar and come in smaller sizes… though I definitely know I will use it all. I’m half way through the canister and my nails are growing awesome!

      Like

Leave a Reply

