Veggie Forbidden Rice Ramen

Comforting, Nourishing, Filling, Easy, Vegetarian (with a Vegan option) AND Gluten-Free. Niiiiiiiiice.

This was my first attempt at making a ramen soup and though this is far from a traditional ramen recipe, I was pretty proud of how it turned out, both in taste and aesthetically. 

I’m crazy so I made this on a hot night in the middle of summer but it was worth it.

I found these Forbidden Rice ramen noodles at Whole Foods and knew I had to make something with it. Black noodles for a former goth girl, too cool. And though I am far from vegetarian, I was having a killer craving for tofu.IMG_0113IMG_0114I

I used extra firm tofu which I highly recommend. Another item I had that I was excited to use were these kelp flakes I found on Amazon.com. I was reading an article about the health benefits of kelp and immediately ordered a giant bag. I LOVE Amazon for finding food items not easily found in grocery stores. I swear they have everything. Everything. Some benefits of kelp: regulation of thyroid, promotes healthy skin and hair, packed with potassium, magnesium, calcium and iron. Even said to aid in burning excess fat. Hell yeah!

IMG_0115

So here’s what I did:

Boil the Forbidden Rice ramen according to the package, drain in the strainer then VERY QUICKLY run cold water threw the noodles, separating with your fingers. When the noodles feel nice and cool, set them aside.

Fill a large pot with about 4 cups of water and let boil. Once it’s to a nice rolling boil add:

  • Three packets of miso soup mix
  • 2 cups of vegetable broth
  • 3 garlic gloves, chopped
  • 2 bunches bok choy
  • 1 cup white mushrooms (or really any mushrooms you want)

Allow the soup to boil on low. While that is going down:

Soft boil two eggs (approx 7 minutes) drain and let sit in cold water. 

Chop into cubes:

  • Extra Firm Tofu

Peels the soft boiled eggs and set aside. Add the tofu to the soup mixture. Cook another 10 minutes.

Now my FAVORITE part. Presentation! I love this part. I love seeing a person’s face when I present them with pretty food.

I kept the noodles separate so they didn’t over cook. I use a lot of rice noodles and pasta and I can tell you, it is extremely easy to overbook them. Mushy noodles are gross.

So assemble your ramen bowls by grabbing your desired portion of noodles, I did about a handful and place it into the bowl. THEN scoop the broth and broth filling over the noodles with a large soup spoon. Slice the soft boiled eggs in two and place a half in the bowl. Lastly I sprinkled with the kelp flakes. Black on Black! Here’s how mine looked:

FullSizeRender_1

PRETTY! Leave the egg out and BAM…it’s Vegan. Ramen is so pretty. I need to make a gallery post. Send me pics of your homemade ramen!

xoxoxo

D

Leave a Reply

