Sardine Pizza (aka the best pizza ever)

FullSizeRender_2

Ok maybe not the best pizza ever if you hate sardines, but I love those little babies. I have been trying to find natural sources of B vitamins in food and sardines are tiny nutritional powerhouses. In addition to B vitamins, sardines are loaded with protein, calcium, iron, magnesium, potassium, zinc, vitamin A, D, E, K…and that is the short list. Sardines are badass.

I remember picnics with my dad as a child, he would have tins of sardines packed in marinara sauce and a loaf of freshly baked French baguette. The most simple meal that ignites happy and comforting feelings in my brain. I will always connect sardines with youth and simplicity in my mind. I’m weird.

Annnnnnd of course…I love pizza. Though I did notice that as I changed my diet and begun to eat healthier, my body could no longer tolerate the sodium explosion that was Domino’s or Pizza Hut. Which is weird because I use to LIVE off fast-food and delivery pizza. Now when I eat chain store pizza I always feel gross and bloated afterwards. So I wanted to try to make my own.

This was my first time making a pizza and I swear it was so good I can’t imagine eating crappy chain pizza ever again (excluding real New York pizza…mmmm)…I can’t wait to experiment more in the pizza arts.

The dough is actually really simple to make. Here is a great, easy to understand one from Food.com http://www.food.com/recipe/quick-and-easy-pizza-dough-117532

You can also buy pre-made pizza dough. I’ve seen it at both Whole Foods Market and Trader Joes. Here is my fav:

IMG_0221

I didn’t have a rolling pin handy (just ordered a fancy stainless steel one on Amazon.com but it has yet to arrive) so I pulled and stretched the dough by hand, which is a little more tricky. Either way works. Then I sprayed the stretched dough with some coconut oil spray and set aside on an aluminum foil lined baking sheet (which I also sprayed with a little coconut oil).

Pre-heat the oven to 400.

Grab your favorite sauce or make a super quick and easy one with some tomato paste, garlic, oregano and olive oil sautéed slowly in the skillet.

The fun part. Toppings! Here’s what I used:

1 cup sauce

1 medium tomato, chopped and diced

3 medium balls fresh water mozzarella

1/2 cup feta cheese

2 cloves chopped garlic

2 cans of sardines packed in olive oil

Fresh basil leaves

Pepper

The photo at the top of this post shows how it looks right before I stuck in the oven.

I baked for 15 minutes, then rotated the pizza pan and baked for another 10. That seemed to be perfect. Crisp but tender crust.

FullSizeRender_1

I made this for two people and there was not a leftover in sight. I must say, I was pretty proud of how this turned out. Will definitely be posting more pizza recipes in the future! Maybe every Monday I will make a new, exciting experimental pizza, hmmmmmm…

FullSizeRender

xoxoxo

D

Leave a Reply

