Whole Wheat Strawberry Biscuits

FullSizeRender_1

During summer in the far-west San Fernando Valley, it’s easy to want to hide inside blasting the air, laying around in your underwear and bingeing on Pretty Little Liars, but when you need to escape it’s nice to know that Malibu is just a quick drive through the canyon, and there you have the ocean along with it’s healing breeze. Along Malibu Canyon I always see strawberry stands. I remember living in Washington state and stopping at the endless berry stands for Marionberries (man I miss Marionberries!). I realized I never stopped at a stand in SoCal, at least not since I was a little girl and my mom would need her cherry fix. So I stopped, and all they had were these giant strawberry boxes for $13. They looked amazing so I bought them, knowing that a two person household would never finish them all but I had to have them! I decided I would bake something with them and that I would figure that out when I got home.

In near by Topanga Canyon they have a quaint little neighborhood coffee shop called Cafe Mimosa where I sometimes go to read and get some herbal tea and sometimes one of my absolute favorite things…their whole-wheat scones. I love the nutty, hearty flavor and texture of the whole wheat and they make them with ginger or almond and cranberry. I love them, more so than traditional white flour scones, and they are not too sweet almost like a biscuit. I used this as an inspiration to make these strawberry biscuits. I didn’t know the recipe and have never made scones, and so this first attempt was definitely more like a biscuit. No refined sugar, lightly sweetened with just a little bit of maple syrup, they are just sweet enough for breakfast and just savory enough to eat with a salad or light summer dinner. I was pretty proud of these I must say. Even better….they were CRAZY easy to make! I’m not much of a baker as I have mentioned before. Here is the end result of this experiment:

FullSizeRender

I used:

1.5 cups organic whole wheat flour

2 tbsp organic unsalted butter

1 single serving carton of plain greek yogurt

1 cup sliced strawberries

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp pink Himalayan salt

1/4 cup organic dark 100% maple syrup

2 tsp almond milk

1.5 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

 

Mix all dry ingredients in a bowl. Add butter and mix together with a fork. Then add the rest of the ingredients except the strawberry until you have a nice, thick dough. Gently fold in the strawberry.

Separate into 6-8 balls depending on how big you want your biscuits. Mine made 6 and I formed their shape by hand.

Place on a baking sheet lightly sprayed with coconut oil then lightly spray the tops.

Bake at 425 for 18 min.

BOOM! Clean AF.

xoxoxo

D

 

 

Leave a Reply

