New Haven Inspired Clam Pizza

I gotta say, since I started the tradition of making my own pizza for Monday Night RAW ( I’m a grown ass woman who loves wrestling I know, I’m a freak)…my craving for generic delivery pizza is gone. Like GONE. Like its too salty for me now and leaves me feeling bleh. Now I only crave homemade pizza. And this from someone who just a year ago, at my unhealthiest, would order pizza about twice a week and live off it for days…before I decided to take control of my health. Maybe my pizzas are just the bomb though I don’t know…

I lived in New Haven, Connecticut for a year in 2008 while my boyfriend at the time worked for a law firm there. New Haven pizza is rumored to be some of the best pizza in the USA and has a very distinct style, thin, crispy and even slightly burnt. They are especially known for their clam pizza. I decided to give it a whirl, while still making it my own of course.

I have yet to make my own pizza dough. I will soon I swear! I buy the ready made dough from Whole Foods Markets. This particular shopping trip I noticed they had a multigrain dough and decided to try it. It was nice, nutty with whole seeds. I enjoyed the texture but plain ol’ white pizza dough works. Just roll it out baby!

Ingredients:

Raw Pizza Dough

1 can Clams ( see what I used below!)

Extra Virgin Olive Oil

Fresh Grated Parmesan Cheese

Fresh Water Mozzarella 

1 cup chopped parsley

1 cup chopped white mushrooms

4 cloves garlic,chopped

Salt & Pepper


To be honest, I  was against using fresh water mozzarella. In my mind it didn’t work for this recipe. However the person I was feeding insisted and it ended up being awesome. So thanks ya brat!

I rolled out the dough, greased a foil covered pan with olive oil, then added olive oil to the raw dough as the first layer, followed by the rest of the toppings, adding the parsley and parmesan last and quite liberally. Look how pretty: 


I baked at 400 for 15 min. Then flipped it around and baked for 15 more so it was nice and crisp, but not burnt. Some New Haven style pizza I found to be a little TOO burnt. NYC pizza will always be my fav.

I dare say…this was my best pizza yet. I am getting hungry just looking at these pics, ok bye!


Xoxo

D

Leave a Reply

