Autumn Pasta with Roasted Squash( Vegan, GF)


I love fall. Omg I love fall. I love fall for so many reasons but mostly because fall hosts my three favorite holidays; Halloween, Thanksgiving and Christmas. I also had a particularly difficult summer so I welcome a new season with open arms. New season means a fresh start, right? Seeing signs for pumpkin patches and pumpkin flavored everything at the grocery stores, have filled me with more happiness than I’ve felt in months. Also fall means comfy stews!
Unfortunately, I still live in Los Angeles for the next few months. So it’s still hot. I bought butternut squash last time I went to Whole Foods and I have spent three days dreaming up what the heck I was going to do with it. Every time I’d lurk Pinterest id find stews stews and more stews. Too hooooot. So I combined the power of autumn and the last gasps of September heat to create this pasta dish, to usher in change ever so gently. It’s vegan and gluten-free. I used:

3 cups cubed Butternut squash

3 zucchini, chopped

1 onion, chopped

1 package brown rice pasta

1 can white Cannellini beans

1 can diced tomatoes

1 cup fresh spinach

2 tablespoons tomato paste

3 cloves chopped garlic

Oregano

Olive Oil

Fresh pepper to taste

Set oven to 400

Place squash and zucchini on baking sheet or on foil lined with olive oil.

Sprinkle more olive oil on top and toss to coat veggies. Add oregano and fresh pepper.

Roast for 40 minutes, tossing half way through to cook evenly.

Cook pasta according to package ( I prefer al dente especially with brown rice pasta)…rinse in cold water and set aside.

In a large non-stick skillet fry brown onion and garlic. Add tomatoes and paste. Add spinach and beans last and simmer low, stirring occasionally.

Remove roasted squash from oven. Assemble and layer as you like. I did pasta, veggies, sauce on top. Or section like a Buddha Bowl. Maybe top with vegan or non- vegan cheese. Boom! Buh-bye summer.



Xoxo

Leave a Reply

