Tofu & Sprouted Grain Tostadas (veggie w/vegan option)

I don’t really have a lot to say about this dish. I was craving Mexican food and I had a bag of sprouted grain tortillas I forgot to use, a package of tofu, a can of organic refried black beans, and a fridge full of leftover stuffs. So I did what I had to do to get my fix. And you know what. It was dope as hell.

fullsizerender

The cool thing about this dish is you can change and add so many types of toppings, you can truly make it your own. I used what I had. What would have really made this was an avocado but I didn’t have an avocado. It was still good but everything is better with avocado.

I used Ezekiel 4:9 Sprouted Grain Tortillas for the “shell”. You can use any kind of tortilla really, which makes this easy to make gluten-free.

img_0563

I sprayed each side with coconut oil in a spray can (makes it so much easier), laid on a non-stick baking pan and baked at 400 around 10 minutes on each side (flipping them). Made it nice and crisp and I was able to break it apart and dip it into all the goodness on top, like nachos.

img_0562

The tofu mixture is so easy, I used extra firm tofu and broke it up in a pan with a little olive oil, sliced white mushrooms, chili power, garlic salt and pepper. Then I tossed in a half jar of leftover salsa and sautéed it while moving it around as much as possible. The tofu soaked up the flavor quite nicely. You can easily use a homemade salsa or a can of Mexican chopped tomatoes, onions and jalapeños you can find easily at any grocery story in Southern California.

img_0561

I topped the crisp tortillas with organic butter lettuce, a couple spoons of the black beans, the tofu mixture, shredded cheddar cheese (vegan Daiya or dairy depending on your diet) and since I didn’t have avocado I finished mine off with some leftover corn and arugula salad from Whole Foods. Other things you can top it with: guac, dairy or non-dairy sour cream, canned corn, salsa, black olives, jalapeños…anything you fancy. That’s the fun part! 🙂

It totally fulfilled my craving and left me plenty full (in a good way).

 

Shopping list:

Sprouted grain, whole wheat or any kind of flour tortillas.

Coconut spray oil

Can of organic/vegan refried black beans (I like Annie’s)

1 package extra firm organic tofu

1 cup sliced white mushrooms

Butter lettuce (or any kind of lettuce)

1 cup salsa

chili powder

garlic power

salt/pepper

Vegan or dairy shredded cheese

Additional topping as desired: corn, black olives, avocado, guac, sour cream, etc.

Layer and nosh!

xoxoxo

KA

Leave a Reply

