Quickie Bolognese (w veggie option)

img_0852

This sauce happened when I went to grab my usual jar of Whole Foods brand pasta sauce and then was like “No no…you’re better than this. Not like, a lot better, but better enough.” Instead I grabbed a can of crushed tomatoes and figured i’d start there. I ended of throwing together a pretty damn good “pressed for time” sauce that took about 30 minutes to make yet had big homemade flavor. I felt much better about ditching that pre-bottled stuff.

img_0842

I made mine with organic ground turkey but I added enough chunky veggies that I believe this sauce would be equally bomb and hearty without the meat, so simply omit it if you swing that way. Either way, this simple sauce is PACKED with vitamin rich veggies.

img_0845

Ingredients:

1 28oz can crushed tomatoes (with or without basil)

1.2 6 oz can tomato paste

1 yellow onion chopped

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

2 cups white mushrooms, lightly chopped

2 cups raw spinach

1 pound organic turkey meat (if desired)

1 cup sliced black olives

Spices: salt, pepper, oregano

Olive Oil

Directions:

Add some olive oil to a large skillet on medium heat. Sauté onions and garlic until lightly browned. Add mushrooms and turkey if using meat. Cook until turkey is browned or mushrooms start to soften (about 10 minutes). Add spinach to mixture.

Pour in the can of crushed tomatoes and tomato paste and mix until blended. Add black olives and spices to taste.

Lower heat and simmer about 15 minutes.

Serve over your fav pasta. I almost ALWAYS use this TINKYADA brand brown rice pasta when I need my pasta and I always undercook a couple minutes cause i’m about that al dente life. You can get it at Whole Foods or Thrive Market.

img_0843

xoxoxo

KA

Leave a Reply

