Test Run: Vegan Tex Mex Pizza (V)

fullsizerender_1

A neat tradition kind of just happened in my household. Monday has become homemade pizza night. Every Monday night I have made a totally different homemade pizza. I literally NEVER EVER over delivery pizza anymore since I started making my own. It all started with the Sardine pizza https://kitchenaudacity.wordpress.com/2016/08/02/sardine-pizza-aka-the-best-pizza-ever/, and since then there have been several different pizzas…from goat cheese/arugula to clam. I have been wanting to do a totally vegan one for a while now, to see if I can make a pizza that is both delicious and totally meat/dairy free. This was my first attempt. I give it a 7 out of 10. It was pretty darn good but here is what I would have done differently next time, which is totally my own personal taste…

1.) I wouldn’t have used the southwest Daiya flavor dairy-free cheese. I actually like the mozzarella and cheddar Daiya flavors but I did not like the southwest. It was something to do with the spices. It had a weird flavor to me that distracted me from the rest of the flavors. FLAVOR OVERDOSE.

2.) I would have used a regular red enchilada sauce over the sauce I used so that’s what I will recommend in the directions!

fullsizerender

Otherwise, it was pretty dope. Here is what I used:

  • Vegan pizza dough of choice. (here is a SUPER easy one. http://www.food.com/recipe/vegan-pizza-dough-10579)
  • 1/2 cup red enchilada sauce ( I actually used Frontera Ancho Pepper Adobo sauce but will be using regular enchilada sauce next time as the flavor was a little bitter for my taste also TOO MANY FLAVORS)
  • 1 bag Daiya vegan cheese
  • 1/2 cup organic sweet corn, drained
  • 1/2 cup organic black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 small can sliced black olives
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
  • small can diced green chiles
  • Cilantro to taste
  • Hot sauce to taste

Directions:

Heat oven to 400 degrees. Roll pizza dough out on a non-stick pizza pan, or any non-stick round or square pan.

Spread on enchilada sauce and half the bag of vegan cheese. Next top with corn, black beans, olives, green chiles and tomatoes. Top with the rest of the cheese.

Bake for 15-20 minutes until crust gets golden brown.

Remove from oven and cool for 5 minutes. Then top with sliced avocado, cilantro and hot sauce. Make it look real pretty. Stuff your face.

I will be making a vegan pizza again soon, totally different flavor and will post it until I freaking PERFECT it! 🙂

xoxoxo

KA

Leave a Reply

