Spaghetti Squash Casserole with Dairy-Free Cream Sauce (V/GF)

fullsizerender

It’s November. Do you know what that means? Well I’ll tell you. That means it’s officially time for HOLIDAY RECIPES!!!! Can you tell I am very excited? I am. Last night I got crazy experimental in the kitchen…just me and a spaghetti squash and a vision. I WAS going to make spaghetti squash fritters but you gotta just go where the inspiration wave takes you, you know?

One of my favorite Thanksgiving dishes of all time has always been a traditional all-american green bean casserole. You know the one with the can of cream of mushroom soup, soggy beans and french fried onion toppings. LOVE that gross stuff. I would always make it even if I was the only one eating it! This will actually be my first year NOT making it. I have been trying very hard to cut dairy from my diet for health reasons. Even though I totally cheated the other day with some Froyo…which I regretted very much…I have been VERY good lately.

The cool part about the “cream” sauce in this dish is that there is NO freaking dairy. None. Nada. It’s made with Cannellini beans. BEANS. It’s crazy. And a few more ingredients and my trusty Vitamix. I was pretty stoked when I tasted this sauce. Very reminiscent of those Campbell’s cream soup in texture, but way healthier. It would be excellent in a green bean casserole ( hell, maybe I WILL make it after all), also as an alternative to Alfredo sauce with a pasta. I am not going to lie, I am pretty proud of this and excited to share, even if like only five people read this…

fullsizerender_1

I had some frozen peas and carrot left over from my Shepherd’s Pie Stuffed Pumpkins, but the cool thing about this dish is that you can really add any veggies you want! You do you.

Ingredients

1 small spaghetti squash

2 cups raw spinach

1 cup white mushrooms

1/4 cup veggie broth

1 can Cannellini beans

1 cup nutritional yeast

1 cup almond milk

4 whole garlic cloves

1/2 cup organic extra virgin olive oil

1 cup gluten-free Panko breadcrumbs

1.4 cup more nutritional yeast for topping

paprika or turmeric

salt/pepper

Directions

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Cut the spaghetti squash in half, length wise. Spray each half with cooking spray. I used Coconut oil. Place face down in a cooking pan. Roast for 40 min.

Remove spaghetti squash from oven and let cool completely. Then scape the soft cooked insides with a fork to create the spaghetti and place into a bowl. Set aside.

Change oven temperature to 350.

In a large saucepan sauté the peas, carrots and mushrooms in some veggie broth (just enough to not soften them without burning or sticking to the pan. When soft add the spaghetti squash, spinach, salt and pepper and mix together on a medium heat for about 10 minutes. Spoon veggie mixture into a casserole dish leaving about a half inch or so from the top and set aside.

fullsizerender_3

In a Vitamix or equally powerful blender OR a food processor toss in the beans, cup of nutritional yeast, olive oil, garlic, almond milk and desired amount of salt/pepper. Blend on medium for about 20 seconds or until thick and smooth like Alfredo sauce.

Pour the sauce over the veggie mixture in the casserole dish and spread evenly with a large wooden spoon, pressing down lightly so the sauce soaks through the veggies.

Place dish in oven and bake for 30 minutes.

While the base is baking mix the panko crumbs, about another 1/4 cup of the nutritional yeast, salt, pepper and paprika or turmeric in a small bowl and toss together.

Remove dish from oven and sprinkle the top with the bread topping. Spray on a *little* cooking spray over it to help it brown and place back in the oven for another 10 minutes or until topping is lightly browned.

Take out of oven and stuff your face. Try pairing it with a nice simple salad. Bring this to your Thanksgiving shindig maybe?

xoxoxo

KA

 

 

Leave a Reply

