Dark Chocolate Double Oat Cookies

img_1143

The holidays are making me cookie kookoo, I have been searching recipes trying to get ideas for what cookies i’m going to bake for Christmas and I am testing some out. I love to give them as gifts. It started in my mid 20’s but I have graduated from pretty tin boxes to much hipper (and cheaper) mason jars. I can’t help it ok? They are cute and CHEAP to buy in bulk and they keep the cookies fresh and you can tie with ribbons and it’s all very very adorable.

Ok I was rambling so yes, last night I was craving dark chocolate. And I am ALWAYS craving oatmeal. And my home is full of all kinds of oats, quick oats, steel cut oats, oat flour. So yeah, you can see how that kind of came together…also PMS.

I’ve been trying to pump up the jam (the jam being my blog) and working harder on taking better pictures, etc. I see all these AMAZING professional food bloggers on Instagram and their photos are so amazing and wow, I need to learn to do that. One thing I always see is people like…holding up their food from cool angles and depth perception and showing off the insides of whatever they are eating. It’s a thing. So I tried it. See above. Luckily I just had a cute manicure so my hands were perfect models for ooey gooey dark chocolate closeups. Pretty happy with how the picture came out but more importantly how these cookies came out. They are ONE BOWL, easy to make, NO REFINED SUGAR (depending on the quality of chocolate you use), gluten-free depending on the oats you use. Dairy-free which is good for me. They are NOT vegan, they require eggs for the recipe I did, however you can use a vegan alternative for chicken egg (flax eggs, apple sauce) and bam, veganized.

This makes a nice big batch if you make little cookies. About 15-18 cookies. I baked them all on one large cookie sheet. Then I froze half of them to give away, ate 3 and then my roommate ate the rest. It was a full on cookie party.

fullsizerender_2

The other good thing about making them small is being able to fit them in a mason jar. 🙂

Ingredients

2 cups quick oats

1 1/2 cups oat flour (I used Bob’s Mill)

2 organic eggs

1/2 cup organic pure maple syrup

1/2 cup coconut sugar

3 tsp baking powder

4 tbsp coconut oil

1 cup dairy free dark chocolate chips (60% or higher)

2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

Optional: dried cranberries, cherries, raisins, chopped nuts

 

Directions

Heat oven to 325 degrees

In a large bowl mix together quick oats, oat flour, baking powder, cinnamon, sea salt and coconut sugar. Make a hole in the flour mixture and crack in the eggs, maple syrup, vanilla extract and coconut oil. Mix together, creating a thick dough. Add the chocolate chips and any additions and mix.

Set the dough in the fridge for 30-40 minutes to set.

On a large non-stick cookie sheet or pan with parchment paper line up chilled dough, rolling into little balls, the size of a ping pong ball (or smaller like a large gum ball for smaller more bite-size cookies). Press the balls down with the bottom of a glass (I used a champagne glass, i’m fancy) to desired cookie shape/thickness.

Bake for 12 minutes. Let cool but definitely snatch a warm melty one for yourself!

Store them in mason jars. If you want. You don’t have to. BYE!

xoxoxo

KA

Leave a Reply

