PALEO SNACKS: The good, the bad and the grody.

Hi guys! It’s been a while since my last post. I am in the middle of a big move and I have been a hot ball of flaming stress. Hopefully once I get settled in I will be posting weekly again. Ok this is the first part of an ongoing series I am calling THE GOOD, THE BAD, AND THE GRODY. If you were a kid in the 80’s or early 90’s you know what grody means. If not, just try really hard to figure it out. I’ll give you a hint. IT’S NOT GOOD. This series will replace last summer’s SNACK ATTACK because I like this better. Honestly i’m just trying to bring back the word grody. So let’s talk about PALEO snacks!

IMG_2824

Paleo foods have come a long way mang. Like, wow. I don’t know if you guys remember when the whole Paleo craze first started…the food itself is good…high quality, grass-fed meat and eggs, lots of veggies. But people love snacks and no diet is going to go well without lots of snackable options. And i’m sorry but there are only so many handfuls of nuts one can eat. So some wraps and crackers and “cookies” came out and every single one tasted like nothing but coconut and it was really gross. If you really wanted a good Paleo treat, you had to bake them yourself. I have an excellent recipe for Paleo Snickerdoodles right here on the blog in fact. But sometimes you don’t feel like baking and you want to snack on the run.

I got really excited seeing some of the newer products on the market pop up at my local Whole Foods. So, you know…for science, I decided to buy a bunch and eat them. Now I can share my own personal opinion with my very humble amount of followers. If you like my recipes and posts maybe you will trust my opinions. I got to eat a bunch of snacks so i’m cool.

The Good (from MOST goodest to pretty darn good)

Hail Merry Chocolate Almond Butter Tart

You can find these little treasures in the refrigerated section at Whole Foods. In addition to the chocolate almond butter tart they have a lemon, Persian lime, mint and dark chocolate. I had heard really good things about Hail Merry snacks on other blogs and IG’s from health food bloggers but I was still skeptical. I imagined them being dry, hard, and tasting overwhelmingly like coconut. Nope, this is the real deal right here. The chocolate almond butter filling was soft, the crust was fantastic and nutty. I loved the texture. I love surprises and this little treat was a major surprise. I can’t wait to try the other flavors. Seriously if you are in a Paleo, Keto, GF or low carb diet and you are craving a sweet treat, check out Hail Merry. Lemon is next on my list. I’m coming for you little lemon tart!

IMG_2938

Siete Tortilla Chips

I think the two top food items that keep me from ever being able to be Paleo are tortilla chips and Ramen. Really all noodles. And Red Velvet Cupcakes. Ok, a few things but I really love tortilla chips. Sweet potato chips are not the same. I saw these at the market maybe three times before I decided to try them. Tortilla chips with zero corn in them? I just knew they had to be gross. They just HAD to be. And I imagined they would taste 100% like coconut. I was very happy to be wrong, and i’m not very often happy being wrong. These are SO good and surprisingly close in taste and texture to an actual tortilla chip. They are a little lighter but in a good way. They even look like real corn tortilla chips. Honestly, it’s completely wacky how good they are. My biggest problem was stopping myself from eating them all cause they might be Paleo but they are still high calorie. So like, don’t eat these every day.

Siete Cassava Coconut Tortillas

I am not sure if tortillas are snacks but they COULD be depending on what you make with them so I decided to include them. And they were just fucking fantastic so they deserved an entry. If you haven’t already figured it out, I am concerned with things that taste TOO much like coconut, especially savory foods. And this is straight up called cassava and COCONUT. But they didn’t taste at all like coconut. In fact, other than being thinner, they tasted a lot like regular flour tortillas. When I first took one out of the package it felt dry and hard (like the gross brown rice flour tortillas I tried in the past) but once you heat them up they get super soft and the texture is spot on. I know this brand also makes almond flour tortillas, which I need to try next. Honestly, these are the bomb. I might just buy them even though I tolerate wheat just fine, because they are freakin’ delicious.

Purely Elizabeth Grain-Free Almond Butter Granola

YASSSS QUEEN ELIZABETH. I love this chick. I love her granola. Also a big fan of the Chocolate Sea Salt but that one isn’t Paleo. This one is completely grain-free and super snackable. It can also be a breakfast but I usually have a handful (or two) as a snack between meals or pre-workout. The almond butter flavor is subtle and I love the nut blend. I will be buying these products forever. FOREVER AND EVER. She just came out with a granola bar line so you know i’ll be checking that out. 

 

The Bad

Eating Evolved Coconut Butter Cups

I was super excited to try these but they were not so great. The dark chocolate was bitter, and I like super dark chocolate. I feel like you are better off just buying 70% or higher dark chocolate than this earwax. I tried the “banana cream” flavor which was more like banana chalk than “cream”…there’s a lot of good, low sugar, dairy-free chocolate out there, don’t waste your time with this, I mean you can but I wouldn’t. 

 

The Grody

Eating Evolved Primal Chocolate: Crunchy Caramel

Nope. Nope nope nope nope nope. I wanted to take a picture of this in the garbage can but I forgot I already threw it in the garbage last week after one bite. GRODY TO THE MAX.

 

Listen, there are a bunch of really good Paleo snack options out there right now. Cassava flour is amazing and I look forward to more Cassava products coming up in the grocery game. Hail Merry snacks rock. Not a fan of any Eating Evolved products. I’m glad there were more “GOOD” options because i’m trying to be more positive in general. Snack hard. Peace. xoxo


 


 

One thought on “PALEO SNACKS: The good, the bad and the grody.

  1. Shnovak says:

    I love, love, love the Hail Merry products!! Loved reading all the reviews on everything else!! Guess I have a few more things to try 🙂
    Namaste, Peace, and Love!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

