Spicy Italian Buffalo Burgers (GF/Low Carb)

unnamed-4

Ok maybe not the prettiest dish i’ve ever posted but the recipe is straight FIRE. And easy as heck. Like most of my past recipes I used ingredients I already had in my fridge. And yes I happened to have a pound of hormone-free ground buffalo meat. And luckily because I didn’t have any bread crumbs or Panko this dish became low-carb/gluten-free! I personally set the burger on a small serving of black forbidden rice but you can just skip that part if you are on a low-carb or gluten-free diet. I…am not.

This is my first recipe that I researched how to pair with wine. Learning about wine is a new project of mine and I decided to incorporate my wine learning adventures into my blog! For this recipe, I would suggest a Zinfandel or Cabernet. Something nice and full-bodied. Southern Rhone wines are also said to go well with both bison and buffalo. I didn’t drink wine with my meal, but only because I didn’t have any on hand. It was a dang tragedy.

Like I was saying this is super easy to make and requires minimal ingredients. Feel free to make it your own though, there are so many delicious add-in ideas…fresh water mozzarella, goat cheese, fresh basil (I used dry)…oh man I wish I had had fresh basil on hand. Next time!! For a side dish I stir-fried some Brussel sprouts in olive oil, garlic, salt and pepper. Nice and simple but soooooo good. The only way I cook brussel sprouts. Plus the buffalo burgers are so flavorful and bold you don’t want the sprouts to over power them.

unnamed-2

Ingredientsย 

1 pound fresh, hormone free ground buffalo

1 egg

1 cup chopped onion

6 cherry tomatoes, quartered

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

2 tbsp dried basil

1 tbsp dried thyme

1tbsp dried oregano

Red pepper flakes (to taste depending on how spicy to want it)

Salt & Pepper to taste

Hot sauce of choice (optional)

 

Directions

Chop onions and tomatoes. Add to big mixing bowl of buffalo, egg, parmesan and all the spices. It should look something like this:

unnamed-3

Mix it all up. I used my (clean) hands.

Heat a non-stick skillet on medium high. Form meat mixture into 4 patties with your hands. Place in heated skillet. You should NOT have to use any added oil of you are using a non-stick pan. You’ll see what I mean. Cover and let cook for about 10 minutes before flipping over. Cover again and cook for an additional 10 minutes or until cooked through to your liking. I find it best around medium all the way through. Serve with garlic brussel sprouts or veggie of choice. Pour yourself a glass of wine. Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

Serves 4

 

2 thoughts on “Spicy Italian Buffalo Burgers (GF/Low Carb)

Leave a Reply

