Greek Shrimp over Baked Polenta

img_2193

Polenta is one of those things I like, KNOW I ate as a kid but can’t for the life of me remember a specific occasion or what was even on it. But I know the taste. I figured there must be many shrimp and polenta recipes out there especially since shrimp and grits is a thing. I found many recipes online so I had an idea of how to execute but I needed to find something to make mine interesting enough to post. So here is a greek spin!

I used feta cheese, diced tomatoes, Kalamata olives, lemon and garlic…like a warm Greek salad…but with SHRIMP. I bought tubed Polenta and cut it into slices during prep. These were super easy to make in the oven. While they baked I whipped everything else up in a skillet.

This was a joy to serve and eat and I will definitely be making it again…

Ingredients

1/2 dozen large fresh uncooked shrimp (rinsed and peeled, tails removed)

1 8oz can diced tomatoes (I used one with added jalapeño)

1/2 fresh lemon, squeezed

1/4 cup Kalamata olives, lightly chopped

1/4 cup Feta cheese and a little more for topping

1 tube pre-made Polenta, sliced approx 1/4 inch

salt/pepper/red pepper flakes to taste

1 tablespoon oregano

fresh chopped parsley to top (or cilantro in my case cause that’s all I had)

olive oil

 

Directions 

Slice the Polenta and arrange on baking pan, each side dabbed lightly with olive oil. Sprinkle a little feta cheese on each piece. Baked at 400 for about 20-25 minutes.

While the Polenta bakes, sauté the garlic and shrimp in olive oil on med. heat. When shrimp is just pink add tomatoes, lemon juice, spices, olives. Sauté another 10 minutes.

Remove Polenta cakes from oven and arrange on serving plate. Top with shrimp mixture, a little more feta cheese and chopped parsley.

NOTICE HOW QUICK AND EASY IT IS TO MAKE? 🙂

xoxoxo

KA

 

 

Leave a Reply

