Easy as Eggplant

FullSizeRender_1

I like to mix up my veggie consumption as much as possible so sometimes i’ll buy something random and just figure out what do with it later. Last week it was an eggplant. I was thinking I might marinate it in some balsamic and throw it on the grill. But the days went by and it just sat there. Other things were grilled. The eggplant stood alone.

Then I remembered a jar of Whole Foods brand pasta sauce I bought and got the idea to make try making eggplant parmesan, which I had never attempted before. But I didn’t want to deal with breading. I had no breadcrumbs and I wanted to make a healthier, lighter for summer version.

I would have preferred to make an easy quick tomato sauce from scratch but I had the jar and went for it. Feel free to use your favorite tomato sauce recipe though. There are a ton online for similar recipes. See Pinterest. I am trying to incorporate more garlic into my diet so I topped mine with BIG chunks.

No cheese other than parmesan. No mozzarella, all parmesan baby.

This is so so so easy I swear. All you need it:

  • One large eggplant
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • A jar of sauce or your favorite homemade
  • 2 cups fresh grated parmesan
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic, chopped

That’s it!

I sliced the eggplant very thin and layered three times so it was almost like a veggie lasagna. I also used a round pie dish though any medium baking dish would work. I put down a layer of the eggplant, dabbed each piece with olive oil, sprinkled with parmesan, then sauce. I repeated that three times. Then I topped with a ton of garlic! It looked like this before I put it in the oven:

FullSizeRender

Bake uncovered at 400 for 30 minutes and bam!

Filling and yum. I served it to my friend with a piece of sprouted grain toast. You can use the leftovers to make sandwiches or top rice or pasta or eggs. Seriously great reheated.

xoxoxo

D

Leave a Reply

